VIDEO | Delhi Daredevils awarded free-hit despite Tim Southee bowling legal delivery

no image

Cricket is a funny game to surprise you in a way you could never have envisioned. Today, Virat Kohli committed a school-boy error as he kept only three fielders inside the circle which resulted in the umpire awarding Delhi Daredevils a free-hit despite Tim Southee bowling a perfectly legal delivery.

For T20 Cricket, the rule of Powerplay states, “The first six overs of an innings will be a mandatory powerplay, with only two fielders allowed outside the 30-yard circle. Beginning with the seventh over no more than five fielders will be allowed outside the 30-yard circle.” And Kohli seemed to have forgotten for a moment and in the 19th over, only three men were stationed inside the ring. While that was not legal, none from Royal Challengers Bangalore could notice it and Tim Southee went on to bowl a slower cutter to which Shankar mis-forced down the ground.

However, Shankar had already realised the silly blunder by the RCB skipper and immediately brought that to the umpire’s notice. Upon checking, the umpire, who also missed that in the first chance, called the ball as a no-ball and awarded a free-hit to the hosts. Southee went upto the umpire and had a word with him but he could not change the umpire's mind. Kohli, who was having a word with bowling coach Ashish Nehra was not too impressed by his team's absent-minded approach.

Comments

Leave a comment

0 Comments

read previousIND-A vs SA-A | Twitter laughs as Siraj puts Senokwane on the spot by inquiring about potential dismissal
Professional umpires hate little more than bowlers sprinting away in celebrappeal, completely defying their authority in doing so. Mohammed Siraj is one of the most notorious enjoyers of said tactic but it bode no results for him on Day 3 of the India A and South Africa A encounter.
VIDEO | Chris Gayle sports huge smile after Andre Russell and umpire hit the ground to save their livesread next
When Gayle is on song it is better to sit and savour - but from a safe position. As Chris Gayle defied Newton’s third law of motion to hit an Andre Russell ball harder than it arrived, both the bowler and the umpire hit the ground to save themselves and he ended up with a huge smile on his face.
View non-AMP page